Burning Too Fast - Avalon Perfect Fit

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kstet911

Oct 29, 2010
Ohio
All - love these forums. Very helpful information here.
I'm a rookie. This is my 3rd season.
I have a quesiton about burn times and too much air getting into my insert.
The Avalon Perfect Fit or Lopi Declaration (same) - has an air control handle on the bottom. Push it in - full air intake. Pull it out - maximum air restriction. What I'm finding is that even when I have this air intake all the way out (closed as much as possible) it seems like the fire is still burning too hot and therefore too fast.
My thought is - either I have some sort of gasket problem - where additional air is coming in through the doors somehow - or there is an issue with how the air control closes off air intake - and that it is not closing it off as much as it should.

Please take a look at my youtube video. It shows the air in take fully out (fully closed) - choking off the fire as much as possible - but still there are a LOT of flames consuming the logs quickly. My burn times seem really low. The manufacturer of my insert state burn times of 12 hours. I've talked to others or read about having 8 to 10 hour burn times. My burn times are more like 3 hours. Given I'll have coals left after the 3 hours - but there really is not much heat to those remaining coals.

After seening my video - is this burning too fast - or do I just have high expectations?

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ls_3WtRFtr0&feature=player_embedded[/youtube]