1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Burnpot Full of Ash after 8-9 hours?? HELP!!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by StormPanic, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    New pellet stove owner, Regency GF55. Don't know if I have too much air or not enough or if I need to adjust the feed trim. After 8-9 hour burn, burnpot is filled with ash and pellets are overflowing out of the burnpot. I am burning Green Supremes and Geneva. Combustion air was set on 4/5 and Feed Trim set at 2/5. Any suggestions would be great!!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    Here's a pic of what it looks like after it cools down:

    Attached Files:

  3. krooser

    krooser Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    Not enough air or a dirty stove would be my guess. How many pellets have been run thru since it was completely taken down and cleaned?
  4. krooser

    krooser Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    Not enough air or a dirty stove would be my guess. How many pellets have been run thru since it was completely taken down and cleaned?
  5. krooser

    krooser Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,423
    Loc:
    Waupaca, WI
    Not enough air or a dirty stove would be my guess. How many pellets have been run thru since it was completely taken down and cleaned?
  6. Gary Gileau

    Gary Gileau Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Loc:
    Griswold CT
    I'll bet one of the good people here with experience with your stove will be on to help. My common sense tells me that the feed is to high or the air is too low as you have un-burnt pellets in the pot. Do you have a draft damper that can be opened? Has it been cleaned lately? The cleaning could be an issue, they get lazy when not maintained. I am one of the people that has good luck with Green Supremes but many say that they are ashy. That's why I asked about the cleaning. There are several threads on this site about your stove.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Was your stove properly set up, the damper is supposed to be set by running the stove on high and using a magnehelic (I hope I got that spelled correctly) gage after the burn has stabilized (usually a fairly long period of time).
  8. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    Stove is new. Less than 20 bags burned. I did not set the damper with a manga gauge. After it cools down I will open it up and check how I set it up. Didn't want to buy a gauge
  9. hotdawg

    hotdawg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Central, MA
    Is the stove new or new to you? If it's a brand new stove, I don't think the dirty stove syndrome would be your case. Does your glass get very dirty? Are there unburned pellets in the ash pan? Did you try the dollar bill test to make sure your door gaskets are good? I would try adjusting your pellet feed to the lowest setting and open up the damper some. Or you can go extreme and put your feed on the lowest setting and open your damper completely. You'll see very quickly if the stove is getting too much air. The pellets in your burn pot should start dancing like crazy and literally jump out of the pot and the flames should be very short, probably doesn't get taller then your burn pot. I had similar issues when I first got my stove installed with incomplete burns. I also ended up having to build a wind shield for my vent. The wind can play havoc on a good burn.
  10. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    I don't have an OAK installed. Stove is brand new
  11. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    Okay just opened it up and pulled the damper all the way open. Just lit it with feed on 1 and combustion air trim on 5. Will keep you posted
  12. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    Any clue on if feed trim 1 or 5 is the slowest setting?
  13. Mike M57

    Mike M57 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    I have an older gf55 so my board is a little different then yours. Default trim setting is 4 and combustion is 2. I usually run mine on hi/lo with heat level 3. At this setting trim feed every 4 seconds on hi and 9 seconds on low. Damper is about 1/3 open. Make sure evl on your vent pipe is under 15. My pipe evl was well over 15 and I had air flow issues. I had same problem couple of years ago burning Maines choice. They were really ashy and I had to open damper almost all the way. Also, check to see if you have a regular or high ash burn pot liner. High ash one is much better.
  14. corkman

    corkman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Loc:
    SE,Mass
    x2 on the high ash liner.i had a meridian which is the same stove as the gf55 and i had a problem burning the higher ash pellets.i switched to the high ash liner and set the draft with a gauge and was good to go.
    x2 on the gasket check also.i changed out my door gasket within a month of buying my stove and the ash pan was warped also.do the dollar bill test on the door and ashpan gasket.dont rule those out just because the stove is new.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  15. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That is telling it like it is corkman.
  16. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    OK bear with me because I am pretty new to this. What is EVL stand for with regard to the vent pipe? Also need someone to explain the dollar bill test. Overnight I ran it on level 3 heat, trim at 1, combustion air at 5.
  17. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    OK so here is what it looked like after a 10 hour burn. Feed trim set to 1/5, combustion air trim set to 5/5, heat level 3/5.

    Video of the flame this morning after I set the heat level to 5/5

    Attached Files:

  18. jdbell

    jdbell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    South Shore - MA
    I have a GFI55 (2010) model....if they changed any. I believe the feed and trim setting buttons only apply when your stove is running on lowest setting (ie..setting number 1). At every other setting the stove automatically set's the feed and combustion trim for you. The only thing you need to adjust is the damper opening, which in your case appear's not opened enough. Do you use an oak, you may need more air to the stove? Try opening the damper 1/4 inch at a time and give it 15 minutes or so to adjust itself, you want a nice brisk flame burning, not a blow torch and not a lazy flame.
    From you pic's it appears you are using a high ash burn pot liner.
  19. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    I have the damper open full (pulled all the way out). I am using the burn pot liner that came with the stove. I don't think it is the high ash one (there are no holes in the bottom, just the front and back). Weird that I would have to buy a different burn pot liner than what came with it (can I drill holes in the one I have?). I guess I could install an outside air kit (was hoping not to put another hole in the house).
  20. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    The wall to the right of the stove is the garage. Could I install the OAK to the garage? Its not tight at all (plenty of air in/out under the garage door).
  21. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Read your stove's installation manual, I believe the answer you will find there is no.
  22. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    So I assume that I must need more air (i.e. OAK)? Damper is all the way open so it can't be that.
  23. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    If a stove has a high ash pot or liner available by all means get it, pellets are not like oil, ash content varies all over the place.

    Remember unlike what the folks tell you at the big boxes all pellets aren't the same by any stretch of the imagination your stove doesn't have an agitator to keep things broken up so the air can get through all of the time to both burn the fuel and eject the ash.

    Even the ash produced isn't the same in terms of density, light fluffy stuff is easy for the air to remove, the heavy stuff not so much.

    Enough air under the pot and up through the pellet pile does the job in top feed pellet stoves.

    You also don't have an automatic pot dumping and relight system (Mt Vernon AE, Fahrenheit) or a feed system that slowly pushes the ash away from the burn area (Harman, ESW bottom feeders).
  24. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,539
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You can create a dirty burn and generate more ash by having the damper open all the way on some installations.
  25. StormPanic

    StormPanic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Merrimack Valley, MA
    OK so now I am thoroughly confused. I am almost certain that my stove did not come with the high ash liner (will confirm when I get home). The pellets I burned last night were Geneva which I thought were pretty high quality but I could be mistaken. I will do some calling around today and see what else is available in my area (I know I can get Logik-e). As far as the damper goes, I am not really sure what to do. I figured leaving it full open would improve things (which I think it did). This morning the burnpot was noticeably less full than the previous burns. I guess I will start with getting the high ash burnpot and experimenting with the damper at different levels? I don't have access to a magnehelic gauge. I can also leave the door to the garage open in the room to see if that helps. If it does, I can install an OAK.

Share This Page