1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Burnpot overflowing in my Golden Eagle

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Crazy J, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
    Yes another one of these threads.

    I am new to the pellet stove game so please excuse my ignorance on some of what will hopefully be brought up.

    I bought a Golden Eagle 5220 (USStove/Breckwell) a little over a month ago. I have not had it burn correctly yet. From the start the burnpot has overfilled quickly. I have yet been able to run the stove for any length of time above the second-to-the lowest heat setting (2). I did manage to finally be able to run the stove on setting 2 for about 12 hours or so but the damper had to be fully open. Since my last attempt at fixing this, I can't even get that long out of it.

    So far, based upon their recommendations, I have done the following:
    1) Adjusted the trim setting. They insist this affects more then the lowest heat setting but my manual clearly states otherwise. Obviously, when running on the lowest heat setting (1) the pot didn't overflow, in fact, if left overnight it would burn out. No change on setting 2.
    2) I changed my exhaust installation. At first I had about 1.5 feet of horizontal run, a 90 degree elbow, then another 1.5 feet of horizontal run into the clean tee then about 8 feet of vertical run. I removed the second section of horizontal run and its associated 90 degree elbow. Now, I have about 1.5 feet coming out of the back of the stove run into the clean tee and about 8 feet of vertical run. I saw a small change but not enough to matter much.
    3) I added a "fresh air kit". Instead of punching another hole through my wall, possibly for nothing I ran the flex hose to outside via the window for now. I think it has gotten worse since then. I can't even get the length of time I used to on setting 2.

    I sometimes find large clinkers in the burnpot which quickly prevent ash from falling into the firebox. I am burning Fireside Ultra pellets, which seem to have gotten mostly good reviews.

    One thing I'm wondering, I notice my burnpot only has holes on the bottom. Is this a problem? Seems to me when the ash quickly clogs the holes on the bottom there is no air circulation in the pot anymore.

    I'm going to call them again but in the meantime I'm hoping for other suggestions.

    Thanks for any help,
    -J

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
  3. Dan_Maine

    Dan_Maine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I have the same stove and same problem
    when the fire is going go stand in front of it and look to see if you can see light around the ash pan gasket
    also check the window gaskets along the sides any leak you see is that much air that is not getting push up thru the burn pot and will give you clinkers and charcoal


    the solution was the field service kit from the company that they will send you for free
    there is a gasket behind the burn pot (2 screws) that leaks
    I replaced the gasket in back of the burn pot and put a new ash pan gasket on (carefull the latches are weak) and then redid the gasket aroung the window and has been running good for several days now
    mine like the hardwood pellets tho i will often burn 70% hardwood and 30 % soft wood crap from walmart or home depot.
    I run it on the 2nd or 3rd setting with the draft about 3/4 the way out
  4. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,161
    Loc:
    Salem NH
  5. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Is this a brand new, or used stove?
  6. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
    This is a new stove.
    Dan, thanks for the tips. I did call and receive the Field kit though it wasn't much of a help. It was all just replacement gaskets, and didn't include the ash pan gasket. The dollar bill test on the door is good so I didn't replace that one. The ash pan is definitely a weak point on this stove. Mine just doesn't sit right. I can't get it to latch unless I reach through the back and hold the lap over the lip. They sent me another ash pan (minus the latches) but it seems to fit worse. I will probably have change the latches over and try it to be sure.
    At this point I can run it for 24 hours on setting 2 with no intervention and 12 hours or so on setting 3. When the burn pot is getting full I can lower the setting and let it "burn down", thus getting more time out of it. This at least keeps the house warm. Ultimately the burn pot ends up emptying in one big chunk with very little ash beneath it. I read its an airflow issue but not sure where else to look.
    On a side note, it seems to run better with the air wash blocked up, though the glass winds up dirty all the time. Anyone see a problem with this?
  7. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    thing to remember is its all about air, either the combustion air is being restricted or its being pulled around the fire instead of through it. inspect the air pathway from intake through the burn pot and assocociated components (cradle etc.) ash traps heat exchangers ensure that air needed for combustion is not able to get around the fire or that the pathway hasnt gotten clogged by ash between the fire and the combustion blower somewhere.
  8. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
    I'll take another good look. I can feel a big difference from the intake when I open up the damper...as I should so I don't think there is any blockage. I wonder if drilling more holes in the burn pot would help. I notice there are holes in the bottom but only a couple higher up in the back and front. I'm thinking additional holes higher up and on the sides might help.
  9. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Holes higher up, will take away from the air under the pellets. More air is needed under the pellets than beside them.

    You plugged the air wash, have you tried using high temp foil tape and sealing the ash pan (all 4 sides on the outside of stove)?? It would look terrible, but to test it for a day or two, to see if the ash pan gasket is your weak link??

    Also, plugging a few of the higher holes, will allow more air under the pellets to the remaining holes. Same amount of air, but fewer holes, means more air velocity and may give you better combustion and expell the fly ash from the pot??

    Whatever you do, don't put more holes above the pot... More air is needed under them.
    stoveguy2esw likes this.
  10. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    with the unit running, take a lit match or candle "cig lighter "etc. trace around the edges of the ash drawer and watch the flame , if its leaking it will suck the air into the stove through the leak, this is air that normally would be passing through the fire, thus reducing the amount of air available to the burn pot.locate and seal these leaks
  11. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,589
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Take a look around the edge of the burn pot, if there is a gap there it is more air bypassing the pellet pile and not available for the fire, gasket can be added to seal up this area.
  12. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
    There is a very small gap, 1/8" at most. I can try to find something small enough to tuck in there. Maybe I could wrap some foil around the edge of the burn pot cradle. Thanks

    I will give this a try. Thanks
    Ok, that makes sense. I have an extra burn pot so I was going to experiment but now I have sound reasoning to leave it alone. Appreciate the advice.
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,589
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Air flow issues can be caused by multiple small things and in the world of combustion air what might appear to be small is huge, it is like drafts in houses around doors and windows.

    Let us know how things work out.
  14. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Not a bad idea....make sure it's furnace rated foil. If that seems to help, maybe a more permanent fix with regular gasket material will work.

    I have found that eliminating burn pot air leaks on my stove have significantly improved the burn.
  15. Gdbailey

    Gdbailey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hey there, having same issues with my 5520. I have all the fixes above but still can't run for more than eight hours without the burn pot overflowing. I called cust service again and they are sending me a new exhaust blower. It is supposed to arrive Tuesday, once I get it installed I will let you know if it makes a difference. The handle also broke so I am waiting for a new handle as well. All this and I bought the stove on the 29th of dec. trying to stay optimistic but I'm just about ready to send it back.
  16. Gdbailey

    Gdbailey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Installed new exhaust fan (1.6 amps instead of the .84) but only made little difference. Finally plugged all the top holes in burn pot and drilled every other bottom whole to 1/4 inch and it runs great now on the 2nd setting.
  17. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Drilling them bigger isnt really necessary. Closing the upper holes is better, in my opinion.

    Your gonna have a high flow through a larger hole, but lower pressure (not as much ash ejection). I want high pressure and good flow.

    Glad its working good for ya :)
  18. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
    Quick update, I ran through all 3 tons of my Fireside Ultras and had to buy more pellets. Home Depot didn't have any more Firesides so I ended up with a half a ton of Green Supremes. These burned great. Only a couple of small clinkers and a lot of ash. I know typically a lot of ash isn't really a good thing but when compared to no ash and one large clinker that fills the burnpot, I'd say it's an improvement.
    Well, I ran out of the Green Supremes and so I go back to Home Depot and guess what, no pellets at all. So I go to a local pellet stove shop who has a good selection of pellets on hand and they recommend Vermont Pellets, 100% softwood pine. Now I'm back to constantly over-flowing burnpot issues. And, my wife calls me tonight while I'm at work and says she sees sparks coming out of the exhaust pipe. I've read on here that it is normal but it's a first for us.
    I still need to find some high heat foil tape to block off the upper holes of the burnpot. I had stopped at the hardware store but didn't find any...maybe I looked in the wrong place.

    One other question now that I'm thinking of it. My auger recently jammed so I emptied the hopper and was able to get all the pellets out of it and got it running again. While doing that, I had pulled the side panel off before I knew what the problem actually was. I found a lot of dust under there, directly under the auger/drive motor. Is this normal?
  19. jhanan

    jhanan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Loc:
    Charlton, NY
    Interesting comments about pellets. My 5520 seems to run better with mix hard/soft wood pellets since the burn faster and and less overflow issues. Please post picture of your burn pot modification. I modified my burn pot buy ADDING holes on of both sides (left and right). Seems this might be a mistake and I should have made holes on bottom bigger. How did you seal the side holes up? Please post some pics. Thanks, Jeff
  20. Dan_Maine

    Dan_Maine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    7


    I have had the same issue and have replaced the ash pan and the gaskets and the problem ail keep coming back.
    I just put a cement block against the ash pan and that helps.
    Also i just moved to a new old house and tried to connect it up to a cement block chimney and no luck at all getting it to run, the stove co says it will NOT work in a chimney and needs a 3 inch pipe system
    Not happy about that as when i shop for a new stove at several location they all report that other stoves work just fine in a chimney but not the holder eagle so guess i am out of luck
    Dan
  21. Crazy J

    Crazy J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Dudley, MA
    Sorry to hear about that Dan. Wish I had solution for you. I definitely wouldn't buy this stove again. From beginning to end it's just not a very good device.

    Jeff, I too have found that hardwood blend pellets work best. I tried a very highly rated softwood last year and they were terrible.
    As for burnpot modifications I never did anything until a few weeks ago. I drilled every other hole in the bottom bigger and it seems to have helped. I can take a pic when I cool it down if you want. Let me know.
    Maybe you can cover up all the side holes with high temp foil tape? I have a spare burnpot I was going to modify. It's yours if I can feasibly get it to you. It's used but stock.
    jhanan likes this.
  22. jhanan

    jhanan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Loc:
    Charlton, NY

    I'll pm you about the burn pot. It looks to me that the original holes are 1/8 inch so going up next size is 3/16 - which is about the same size as a pellet, right?

Share This Page