Burnpot question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JRA

Feeling the Heat
Nov 24, 2014
north shore ma
I was wondering what methods people use to get rust off the burn pot. I only have a few spots and it's nothing major and I use a handheld wire brush to scrape the pot every two to three days. Just wondering if there was a more efficient way. I am new to burning and I have a winslow pi40 insert that works great. I burn softwood as well as hardwood does that effect the amount of rust that can develop in the burn pot. Thanks

you must be burning intermittently still, right?
i have to guess it's air humidity that is giving the needed moisture for rust to develop.

i use a wire wheel (cone shaped, bristles point downward) maybe once a month just to clean surface build up.
but i never get rust during burning season.
during the off season i have a damp rid container inside the firebox. and i spray the pot with graphite spray after the final season's end cleaning.

Reactions: Bioburner
Thanks for the reply. Yes I am burning intermittently, due to the few warm days we have had in Boston. It is one or two small spots that show what appears to be a rust spot. Not sure about the brushing use I think it's cheap detail wire brush. Where can I purchase a brush like the one you use, home depot? New to all of this, also where did you get the damp rid container and how does it operate. Thanks

damp rid is a desiccant that removes moisture from the air.
the container holds a pack of it and allows the water to collect in a lower compartment and has a spout you can empty it with.