Buying first load of wood. Does this sound good?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Planeweird

Sep 29, 2008
cincinnati, oh
Mixture of Oak, Hickory, Hedge, Walnut, Mulberry, Hackberry, and Maple. 1 Cord $125.00 delivered.

Talked to the guy on the phone. He has about 15 cords that are split and seasoned for 1 1/2 to 2 yrs. The splits are 16" on average. He said that I'm welcome to come out and check the wood before buying and he guarantees me a proper cord(4x4x8)

I'm thinking of buying 4 cords this year since I won't have time to cut and season my own by Winter.

I'm just learning about wood and have no idea if Hedge, Mulberry, or Hackberry are any good. Thoughts?

That would be a great deal! It's nice that you can look at it before you pay him. The wood mentioned is all good wood, you might take a moisture meter with you if you have one. It's a good deal even if it is green though.

If I could get hardwood that cheap, I sure wouldn't bother doing it myself. Around here a cord of locust or red oak is 300-400 dollars. Sure seems like a good deal to me.

That sounds like a great deal even if it's not totally dry. At that price you might want to consider getting enough for 2 years to get ahead of the game?

Thanks guys. I may just do that. I just bought my Jotul F 3CB to suppliment my heating. Plan on heating my first floor living areas(950sq ft roughly) aand will probably burn fall through spring. Does 2-3 cords sound about right for that size and length of time? I'm in Cincinnati.