Buying first wood stove and looking for help/opinions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PAcountryboy

Jul 24, 2008
South Central PA
I am a complete newbie, and I’ve been reading this site as much as I can to find answers to my questions. I’m becoming overwhelmed at the amount of info here, and hope some comments and opinions from others can shorten my research time.

Some quick background info: I’m looking to purchase a new woodstove to replace oil as the main heat source in an old farmhouse I recently purchased. The house is 2020 square feet. The stove will be placed near the staircase that goes upstairs, which has a door on it. I hope this will allow me to control the heat by opening/closing the door going upstairs if need be. It’s just my wife and I and we live mainly on the first floor, with the second floor being mostly for guests when they come to visit.