Buying house with metal fireplace. Want to convert to woodstove. What to look for during inspection?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

earthbelowus

May 12, 2016
Massachusetts
Hi all, I'm new here, and it looks like a really helpful supportive community, so maybe you can give me some pointers.

We are about to buy a house built in 1994, with a prefab zero clearance metal fireplace, and we want to install a wood stove. The current chimney is I think metal pipe inside a wood structure covered with cedar siding. In other words, not a brick chimney.

I'm totally new to all this, but I've been looking around, and it seems that we need to see if the chimney is good enough for a wood stove, but I'm not sure what to look for.

A few days from now we'll be going through the house with a home inspector, and while he's there, I thought it would be a good idea to make sure and ask him about the chimney, but it would be great if I knew what to ask him to look for. Any tips? Just trying to get a sense of whether we'll have to rip out the whole chimney and replace with new pipe, or if a few modifications could do it.