Buying one fireplace to heat 3 rooms

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Starter

Jan 31, 2007
Hi, I am very new to this topic and I'd appreciate any advice I can get.

We're planning to buy a fireplace for the house we've been living in these last four years. The house is quite large - downstairs it's 'open-plan'. I live in Malta (so please excuse my English!) so another problem is that it's really not that common for houses to have fire places, but ours does get uncomfortably chilly in winter and considering very hefty utility bills it's also cheaper in the long run.

Our plan was to have the fireplace in the hall downstairs, we set our minds on a woodburning one, the one with the glass, and the power is 16KW. Now the issue is that we wanted a system where with one main fireplace downstairs we could also have pipes (I don't know if that's the correct term) and a blower, to heat these rooms upstairs: daughter's bedroom which is the one directly above the fireplace, bathroom which is next door, and the main bedroom which is ensuite to the bathroom.

Now my first problem is that our dealertold us not to expect any great heat to the upstairs rooms, and he was of the idea that we purchase separate fireplaces for those rooms.... He keeps insisting that he doesn't have confidence that we'd be satisfied. But I'm sure in other parts of the world where it's colder this system is not unheard of. And I somewhat think that he isn't confident because his largest fireplace of 16KW isn't large enough for the job... but then I don't understand much about fireplaces either.