Cab50 problem....again.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    My stove's fire looked weird to me and I decided to turn off the stove. When I say weird, I mean the fire was burning TOO close to the pellet chute (I've never seen it burn like this). Now my stove won't feed pellets.

    The "white" part near the chute is where the fire was burning.

    What could have caused this and how could I fix it? Thanks for the help in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jrsdws

    jrsdws
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    80
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    Total grasping at straws here....but maybe check the holes in the burnpot to make sure none are plugged? Let it cool down and get a flashlight and a piece of coat hanger or something and clean them all. Maybe something is plugged and the air flow is pushing that flame back towards the rear wall?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    140
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    to get the auger restarted I'd be checking the high limit switch reset button .

    when the stove was burning funny could you hear the combustion blower running ?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Completely clear.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The reset button wouldn't work. I don't remember the noise on the combustion blower. Sorry.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Is the ash trap closed completely??

    Looks like you had a seriously lazy flame and it burned hot where the flame was? But sooty everywhere else?
     
  7. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The ash trap is closed completely. The fire wasn't a lazy burn.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Hopper was full or empty?

    Damper under ash pan is still open?

    Door on ash clean out isnt hanging down more than the thickness of a dime?

    In order to get that much black (the entire firebox looks black), the flame almost had to be lazy?? Or you somehow had entirely to much fuel and there was no air getting under the pellets (ash on bottom)??

    Have you tried to restart it yet??
     
  9. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    If there was not 400 miles between us I would drive out just to see this one in a million stove. Not poking at you but you have had more issues with this CAB50 than the entire list of CAB50 complaints on this board. Are you sure you are not a "plant" from USSC?

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    MommyOf4 likes this.
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Or the stove is loaded with ash in the exhaust system which brings up the question of how many bags of pellets have been burned since the vent and exhaust passages in the stove were cleaned or the door isn't sealed maybe the latch is loose or not closed all the way?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Did you ever get the issue with the door not sealing corrected? Please explain again how this stove is vented, listing all components of the vent and diameter of pipe (i.e. adapter, tee, 36" vertical, ect.). There has to be one small thing that is messing with this stove.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    LOL @ Kinsmanstoves!! I wish that was it!

    I've burned about half a ton of Lignetics and a few bags of Power Pellets/Statesmen.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    From reading the manual, I think it has to do with resetting a snapdisk 2 or 3. I'm trying to figure that part out now. :(
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    We use the Selkirk VP venting and it has attached in order adapter, tee, long vent pipe (not sure what it's called), 90(?) elbow, long piece out through the wall and a rain cap attached to it.

    The guys that came before said the sealing to the door was ok.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Ok....I can't seem to find anything on how to reset a snap disk 2. AHHH!!!!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The damper and clean outs are both closed. When the fire started looking weird the fuel kept coming out and that was reason I turned the thermostat to the lowest setting (causing it to turn off).
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Will the stove restart?

    The snap disc you are looking for ONLY Needs Reset if the stove was overfired and WILL NOT START?

    So turn the stat up. If stoves blower comes on? Its not tye snap disc.
     
  18. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The stove won't feed at all and doesn't seem to start at all. I do hear a blower of some kind. When I hit the reset button, nothing happens and I don't hear anything.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    I have never seen a snap disk on a Heatilator needing reset.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Have you tried to jump the vacuum switch?

    If the combustion blower is starting and your auger isnt? The 1st place I would look is vacuum?

    Does the CAB have a Hopper lid switch? Is it closing properly?
     
  21. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Really? What do you think could cause this? I've tried hard setting it. Cleaned it out completely.

    The stove just will not feed. Not even the initial feed.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    There's no lid switch. Everything seems to be closing properly.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Could it be an auger jam?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Have you checked?
     
  25. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    The CAB 50 has a magnetic hopper lid switch. I would bet $5 that you did not trip the high limit snap disk.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page