1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Cab50 problem....again.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I'm pretty sure the auger is not jam. I took out all the pellets and vacuumed out the the top and bottoms of the chute. I took the shop vac hose and vacuumed out the venting. Cleaned inside the stove. Made sure the ash pan, cleaning rod, and hopper lid was correctly placed.

    Am I missing something?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Doesn't that switch stop the auger?
  3. Hdhogger

    Hdhogger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Yes indeed. Never seen soot like that on my baffle plates.
  4. Hdhogger

    Hdhogger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    I would clean all of the venting from the exhaust outlet to the cap.
  5. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    When I burn Lignetics, I always get black soot like that. :(
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Something is not right if it's burning black (anytime). Regardless of pellet..... :(
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  7. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Ok...correction...I've gotten black soot like that ever since my stove started going haywire back in mid December.
  8. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    In the process of cleaning out the venting I tried to remove the rain cap from the outside and noticed that our installers sealed it inside with silicone. ARGH! The only way to take it off would be to scrape the silicone of somehow, correct?
  9. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    The venting is completely cleaned now and it still won't feed.
  10. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    What could cause the black soot? Air restriction? or Vacuum?
  11. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Could be either.

    Black soot = rich burn. Rich burn =air restriction/ or lack of vacuum from comb. blower.
  12. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Our dealer came by today and the stove started right up for them (after I tried everyday for a week now), but they did notice that one of the snap disks was defective. They replaced it and it's working again without any issues so far! There's no black ash on the window yet.
  13. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    Has the dealer charged you anything yet for the service calls???
  14. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Keep your fingers crossed, and let us know how it goes.
    MommyOf4 likes this.
  15. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Nope! Everything has been covered under the warranty so far. I made sure to tip them well though! I would HATE to work in this cold weather and not get paid.
  16. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    cab50 baffles.jpg How does this look to you all. Been running on medium half feed and damper open all the way. Last time I cleaned it after it was on high for a couple of nights the back baffle plates were black with ash. Is this ok? View attachment 91500 now in the pic only one side which is the exhaust side is covered but the center and left seem normal. When I have burned on medium with the damper closed mostly didn't have this. Should I close the damper some? Justt making sure all is running correctly.
  17. lodtrack

    lodtrack New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Moonbeam Ontario
    Also the high limit snap switch would have to be manually reset by pushing in the actuator on the switch back...
  18. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Our dealer just switched out our control box and wouldn't even take a tip for coming out. He said that our control box was on the wrong setting. He said it was supposed to be on 2 but was on 4? I though it was supposed to be on 4.
  19. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Depending on the part number on the box it is supposed to be a 4. This is if it is the original control box. Then new control boxes have only been out for a few months. THOSE are supposed to be on a two. I have the old one and when I did try it on two , my igniter and feed system wouldn't work. Put it back to four and no problems! When did you purchase and what date was te stove manufactured?
  20. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I bought ours mid Sept of 2012. I can't seem to find the manufacturing date.
  21. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    MommyOf4, did they ever change the door gasket ??
  22. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,354
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    all depends on the part number
  23. imacman

    imacman Guest

    So we're assuming that since you didn't mention how the stove was running, everything is still OK??
  24. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    331
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    They still haven't changed it. They said I need to shut the door tighter. We've been pushing it as tight as we can. It's been working ok so far. We'll see in a few hours.
  25. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Hi. Sorry for the late replay. I had to get back to work. The part number on my control box was made in 2008 and it is part number 7058-172 which is the first control boxes they put in the EcoChoice stoves. That is supposed to be a 4. My stove was made this year also. The new control boxes are 7058-188. You can see the number on the control box just by taking the side panel off. Nothing else needs to be done. What HHT didn't ASK me when they checked my serial number was what is the part number on my control box when I had an issue. They ASSUMED because it was made in sep/oct 2012 that it had the new control box. Obviously not true. qdinfo@hearthnhome.com answered this question for me about the 2 or 4 setting. HHT techs are ok but not the best on the call line. Hope all is working better!

Share This Page