Can I burn these in my insert?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

egclassic

Feeling the Heat
Jan 1, 2011
SW Ohio
My wife's cousin own a fence company and when he receives his fencing and guardrailing, the trucking company leaves him all of the oak 4x4's that the material sits on.
These are NOT treated wood. I know my manual says not to burn "milled" wood, but since these are not finished in anyway, I thought they'd be good to burn. Thoughts??

im not an expert but i dont see why you couldnt as long as its not treated.

Thanks for the quick responses! He says he has a ton of these laying in his yard at the shop. May need drying out but if I can use them, I can have all I want.

They are probably going to burn hot so proceed with caution until you see just how hot.

I would mix them in with other wood you have on hand and not burn them together until you see how hot it burns.

Sounds like you just scored a load of free heat. Congratulations!

I would burn those in a heart beat.

Sure can--I used those things in my smoker for a year before I got the scrounging addiction and a crapload of chainsaws.

joshlaugh said:
I would mix them in with other wood you have on hand and not burn them together until you see how hot it burns.

Bingo!

Get them and burn them. Just don't burn 100% with them but mix it with your other wood. If you just burn them, be sure to not fill the stove or you might face an overfiring.