Can I install my own 4" exhaust pipe?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Proulx06, Oct 2, 2013.

  1. Proulx06

    Proulx06
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    We live in a split-level home in Southern NH and have decided on the Harman Accentra insert. We'll be purchasing it next week and will install it on the main floor of our home, replacing a wood fireplace.

    I've gone back and forth with several local dealers on the purchase and install, and I've been most satisfied with the responses of one in particular. They have a competitive price and are adding in a free ton of pellets with any stove purchase.

    The only drawback is that they don't hang the liner. They suggest a 4" pipe. I've never done any sort of chimney work, but had planned on getting on the roof to clean both flues (we have a wood insert in the lower level). How hard is it to install the exhaust pipe at the same time? Is it something best left to pros? What price should I be looking for (both for the part & install service)?

    I'm pretty handy, but obviously don't want to put my family in danger. That said, if it's brainless and tough to screw up, I'll do it myself to save a few bucks.

    Thanks all! This is a great forum and I've learned a lot from your posts so far.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. john193

    john193
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    184
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    I've never done any chimney work myself and we hung a 16ft liner for our stove. Went up to the roof and fed the liner down. You want the liner to run the full length up to the cap. I got a stainless steel uninsulated liner (don't need the insulated stuff in a chimney) kit from one of the many companies online.

    You may need to remove your damper, I did.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Proulx06

    Proulx06
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Thanks John. Is it as simple as dropping the liner down the chimney from the roof and hooking it up to the adapter at the time of install? Do I need to block off anything at the damper on the way down? How does it attach at the top? I already have a chimney cap with a mesh screen. Will I need to replace that?

    What's involved in removing the damper?

    And since we live in a split-level which has a wood stove insert in the lower level (with a separate flue), are there any considerations I need to make for that?

    Thanks, and sorry for all the questions...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. PutnamJct

    PutnamJct
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Putnam County NY
    I just did the liner install yesterday. I fed the flex-liner up the chimney and had a cone tied to the end with a heavy rope. After getting it halfway up, I went to the roof and pulled it the rest of the way. I bought a whole kit online that included the liner, top plate/cap and a few adapters. You will need to change the cap you have on there now.
    My only snag (chronicled here) was the adapter to the stove, I had to do a little improvisation due to my stoves funky outlet. I also went from a 3" to 4"
    The liner cut easily enough with a hacksaw and a fresh blade, and the liner screwed onto the cap. Pretty straight forward.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. CBL

    CBL
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    17
    Loc:
    MA
    If you're not afraid of heights and feel comfortable going on top of your roof with a coiled up flex liner, It's honestly super simple. I'm not a fan of heights so I rented a allowable bucket lift and had a friend help me, just made it alot easier that way. Took about an hour to have it lined between my buddy working the top and me pulling from the bottom to guide it past the damper + sealing and end termination.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Proulx06

    Proulx06
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Thanks all.

    I just had a brief convo with a dealer who quickly talked through the process...he said something about using silicone to attach the pipe to a block-off plate. Doesn't sound like you guys did this part...sounds like it's as simple as just dropping the flex liner from the roof down to the fireplace and letting it sit there until install day (dealer will arrive with stove and adapter). True/false?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. fmsm

    fmsm
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    135
    Loc:
    South of Boston MA
    Very easy install, the only thing I would do different is off center the block off plate at the top, drill a hole slightly larger that 3" and run a 3" pipe (dryer vent will work) OAK down.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. PutnamJct

    PutnamJct
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Putnam County NY
    When I put the proper adapter on (it's on order), I will use high temp RTV silicone to seal the adapter to the stove. The cap plate also used a bead of silicone adhesive to seal the plate to the top of the flue.

    It makes sense IMO having the flex liner hanging in the chimney waiting for the installer to connect it to stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. #9 Rowdysdad, Oct 2, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2013
    Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    I also installed 2 flex liners about a month ago. One 4" for the vent and one 3" for the outside air. First I removed the movable part of the damper. Then I used a 1/4 inch rope with a funnel duck taped to the front end of the liner. I pulled the rope from the roof up the chimney while my wife fed the liner thru the damper area from below. It took about 45 total minutes to get both liners in place. Very easy install.

    I used a prairie style ( coliner) cap on top of the chimney.

    I made a block off plate above the stove and used Roxul insulation above the block off plate, in the damper area and below the top cap. I did not insulate either flex other that listed above.

    I had problems with the stove adapter that I used. When the 4" flex was attached to the adapter it came in contact with the top of the stove so I had to remove the factory installed stove exhaust from the combo blower and reposition it so that I had clearance.
     

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. Proulx06

    Proulx06
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    I see this "OAK" acronym all over this site...what does it mean?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    I would suggest you use a couple short screws on the adapter in addition to the high temp silicon to make sure everything stays in place.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. PutnamJct

    PutnamJct
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loc:
    Putnam County NY
    Outside Air Kit

    I don't have one, but some installs need it
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Proulx06

    Proulx06
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    Gotcha. OAK is an alternative to pulling from inside the room, right? Any idea if a Harman Accentra Insert needs it? I'll search around for the benefits...I would like to do this right, and do it right the first time.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. #14 Don2222, Oct 2, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2013
    Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,718
    Likes Received:
    446
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    OAK is outside air kit. When installing the 4" diameter flex liner you may install a 3" diameter flex liner for the OAK at the same time. Just as easy to install both at the same time with chimney 2 caps. The OAK is not needed per code but it works very well and prevents warm room air from going up the chimney. We also install Roxul Fire Proof insulation from Home Depot on the damper shelf to keep that nice warm room air you are paying for, from convecting up the chimney. Some towns may require an aluminum blocking plate. It is a good idea to hold the insulation up but may not be required.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. tpme06

    tpme06
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Newmarket, NH
    I used my Harman Accentra insert for the first year with no OAK but was getting bad drafts in my house when it was on. Put an OAK in this year and it seems to have helped. I would suggest doing it when you first install the stove, makes life much easier! Either way, you'll love the stove!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information