Can I revive my firewood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mrscott25

Dec 2, 2011
Anchorage, Alaska
Hi guys,
New member here and just had the wood stove intalled last week (avalon pendelton insert) so I am just learning how to get things going.

I have lots of questions about how to make this thing work best, but wanted to post this one in the wood shed catagory.

Ok, here goes. I have approximately 5 cords of White Birch that I cut down in the fall of 2009. Most of this birch is 6-10" rounds and has been laying in a not so neat stack on the ground (uncovered) since that time. It was limbed and cut into about 4 foot pieces and then thrown in a stack. It was never meant to be firewood, I was just clearing dead and nuisance trees at the cabin in 2009.

Fast forward two years....

I now have the wood insert at the house and am wondering if the wood will work or not. I went to the cabin last week and cut and split about a cord of the wood. Most of the wood has some water staining inside and is still fairly wet. As it is now, it is not much good in the stove and just smolders rather than burn unless I put the stove on high and even then I don't get much heat.

I am in Alaska so most of this wood sat under snow for about 7 months a year.

My question is if I should cut and spilt the rest of it, stack it, cover it and let it sit for a year to try and salvage it? Or after all that time and the water staining I found would I be better off to pile it up, add some diesel and just get rid of it and start from scratch.

Any advice is appreciated.

Scott