Can you burn pellets in a regular stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Sprinter

Minister of Fire
Jul 1, 2012
SW Washington
I may run out of optimal wood before the season ends and was thinking of mixing in some energy logs if needed but then started wondering if pellets may work for that as well. I was pricing both and so far pellets seem cheaper and easier to find in larger quantities. But I have no experience with either.

I've heard some mention here of burning pellets in a non-pellet stove. Anybody have success doing that? Does it require a special device to keep it all together? Or should I forget it? I also thought that you would have more control over how much you used on a particular load.

Wouldn't pellets burn really fast due to the surface area? I can see them getting eaten really quick, like little tiny pieces of superdry kindling.

Yes and no... You need a hot coal bed, and some other wood burning in there. Throw in a scoopful of pellets. Big thing is to keep them dry. Open a bag of pellets in the basement and they'll start sucking up moisture and won't easily burn.

As for them burning super easily... there is a reason why pellet stoves have controlled feeding and a draft blower... they need to burn in small quantities all the time, not a big smoldering pile.

Search around & you'll find "Pellet Baskets" that are made for burning pellets in a wood stove. Mostly a gimmick, IMHO, much like the infamous "Magic Heat," but there are some folks who will swear by either or both...
(Do da name POOK ring a bell?)