Can you burn wood standing vertically

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottF

Aug 7, 2008
Southern NH
. I am new to this form. I just purchase a stove dating from about 1890 that I had completely refurbished. (see photo). The picture does not do the stove justice. I plan on using it to heat the first floor of my house. The stove was originally set up to burn coal but can burn wood. It has a grate you put over the coal grates for wood. I have lots of free wood from my lot as we own a lot of wooded property and therefore dont want to pay for coal. I have always burned my Rumford fireplace but for obvious reasons it is not a good way to heat. We burn about 1500 gallons of oil to heat the house and we can not afford that anymore. Anyhow my Question is this : The barrel where the fuel goes is about 12 in diameter inside the refractory cement. It is however about 30" tall and there are two stacked front doors to load. Can I burn by standing the wood up vertically rather than horizontally as is traditional? If so I can fit 18" long pieces. Is there any downfall to burning in a vertical position? The only other way is to cut the wood about 10" long and I already have about 12 cords cut and split at 16 to 18 inches long.Thanks for any help

Attachments

• IMG_0187.jpg
    IMG_0187.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 1,804
Wow- that is an unbelievable stove!