Can you identify wood by smell alone?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Firewoodmaven

Nov 24, 2009
Hudson Valley, NY
I saw Nonprophet wrote that black locust 'has a wonderful “sweet/spicy” smell to it, kind of like a Dr. Pepper' - I am pretty new to cutting firewood and I am wondering what you experienced folks think of identifying wood by its smell. Are the smells distinctive and consistent enough? If you were blindfolded and asked to smell several kinds of wood, how accurate do you think your answers would be?

I can but only willow and cedar. one smells like perfume the other smells like dog crap

Some I can.

I think I can with a few woods that are a little more distinctive like cherry peach apple cedar pine

All I can smell is free heat :zip:

Cept when the Pine Barrens get lit up, once you've smelled that
you will know the difference between camp fire and what can I do to help.

I bet I can identify oak, black birch, red cedar (nothing similar here, but there are some in other parts of the country), pine (can't tell species apart), Sassafras, cherry, and I think Black Walnut. Others don't seem to have a strong enough smell, or they are too similar to other woods. In fact, yesterday I was sorting oak from Red Maple, and some rounds I had to do by smell. I could smell the oak, but the maple didn't have much smell.

I think, oak, black locust, apple, cherry, cedar, hickory?

Oak, cherry, cedar, sassafras for sure They would need to be fresh split, or wet.
When I split oak you can smell it 200 ft away sometimes.

... 'sh!t house door off a tuna boat'.