1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Can't find stove pipe size... or am I doing something wrong?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by lharnish, Feb 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lharnish

lharnish New Member

Loc:
    Dillsburg Pennsylvania
    Hello All,

I am new to owning a wood stove so please bear with me.
    My wife got a old (?) wood stove from a freebee list she is on. I add the question mark because it appears to be old (slight rust, cobwebs, etc) but is absolutlely solid and the data plate is so scuffed up you can see part of a serial number but no manufacturer or name, model, etc.

I am wanting to use it to heat a detatched garage that the previous owner had installed a water circulation furnace with an electric blower and use the existing double walled stainless pipes.

Anyway I measured the top opening and it is as follows:

The outside measurement is 7"
    The inside measurement is 6 5/8 "
    leaving the rim as being 3/'16 thick.

I assumed thet the 7" meant a 7" stove pipe to connect to the stove then the other end to connect to the double walled stainless steel piping we have run from the existing furnace, through the roof, through a thimble and to a stainless chimney.

I have tried and the crimped end (male) is still too large to go into the stove. I cant find any reference to any stove being 'different' in size and evidently I assumed incorrectly that the measurement I took was the correct one.

Any ideas?

Also would it be permissible to see if anyone could ID it as to model or manufacturer if I posted a picture?

Thanks in advance,

The Novice
    Lloyd

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. wahoowad