Can't get enough heat from Englander 28-3500

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

edrobyn

Dec 5, 2014
TN
I have had this stove for about 2 weeks and while I am not new to wood stoves I am new to wood furnaces. my problem is that I can't my house to heat above 68 degrees. I read all these reviews for folks who have this stove who says it runs them out of their houses. I do not have it tied to my main HVAC system but ran a dedicated duct with two outlets to specifically help keep my large two story great room warm. With the capacity to heat 3000 sq. ft I thought I would be able to walk around in my underware when its zero outside. As a matter fact it was almost zero last night and 63 is as high I could get the room. I can get the stove itself so hot that it will set the fire alarm off in the basement but the temperature coming out of the vents is only about 90 degrees. The blower sometimes will run continuously but that seems to be the case only when the basement is already fairly warm. I am wondering if the cold basement air is so cold that when the blower kicks on it is cooling the stove so much that the temp goes down and the blower kicks back off. I have the thermostat on the factory settings. It just doesn't seem that I am getting the heat transfer from the stove to the exhaust. Any suggestions?

How did you duct your return air?

How large are the ducts leading away from the furnace. If the flow of air through the furnace is too slow or too fast then it can't work properly.