cast iron vs steel

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AZ23

Feb 19, 2014
canada
Besides the look of it, any other advantages- Some say cast iron keeps heat in the room - but I have no experience.

They both hot to touch too?

I think its more of how much steel or cast iron. There is a lot of cool cabinet stoves and then there is stoves like the Harman p series that is a heavy hot body stove. A cool cabinet stove does not radiate much heat but relies on the exchanger to put heat into a area.

The xxv won't scold you if you touch the stove at full blast, the p series will. The xxv radiates nearly no heat as compared to the p series.

Reactions: BGStG1aholic
If you have a space that will allow the install of a stove that can radiate heat as well as pass the warm air from the exchanger you can likely get better heating overall.

Now there are the considerations of pets, kids and such.
Personally, I prefer the cold body stove with the heat out the front only, as it allows some very creative installs.

The cast stoves are a tad more fragile than a welded body stoves are, but both have a place.

I have owned both types, but prefer the welded body type.

Just some thoughts.

Snowy

From what know cast iron can take a slightly higher temp before melting,but cast iron cracks much easier and is much much harder to weld. All things considered Ill take the steel any day.

From what know cast iron can take a slightly higher temp before melting,but cast iron cracks much easier and is much much harder to weld. All things considered Ill take the steel any day.