Cat stove question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bjorn773

Sep 12, 2007
Rockford, Illinois
I've been using a non cat for the last 6 years. It's a cheapo Century and I'd like to upgrade and take advantage of the tax rebate. After posting a couple times looking for recommendations, it looks like the Blaze King Princess may be the best fit. I am trying to heat my whole house, using the ductwork to distribute air around. Most of the replies I got felt that convection heat would be ideal for this. Since both my wife and I work full time, the long burn times and large firebox would fit well also.

So, I know nothing about cat stoves. I am a career auto tech, so I understand the purpose. My question is, once lit off, do the cats continue to stay lit simply by burning the unburned hydrocarbons from the main combustion chamber? If I set the BK stat on low, will there be enough hc and air to keep the cat lit and burning clean for the duration of the long burn?

Once the cat is lit the gases on a low burn should keep it going. From personal experience you will get longer burn times from a cat stove, but after year one it seemed that the efficiency slowly declined until 4-6 years down the road when you just need a new catalyst. For me, not cat seems much easier. No temps to monitor, less things to replace and clean. But I know the BK Cat stoves have a strong following on this site, so I'm ready to take my punishment.