cat stoves and burn times at high temps (500+ degrees)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rmcfall

Feeling the Heat
Nov 28, 2005
I've been burning my new Keystone for about 2 1/2 months and have enjoyed the benefits of both the soapstone and the catalytic combuster (i.e., sustained burns at higher temps). I seem to recall a prior post about catalytic stove users getting all day burns at 600 degree temps. While I have managed to get burns at 500+ degrees for 4 or 5 hours, the stove top temperature drops (although slowly) down to 250 or so after that. I am just wondering how some managed to get 600 degree temps for an extended burn? At 600 I eat through the wood pretty fast.

I wonder too.

observations from mine.

I think I normally wait too long to engage the combustor ( it will light earlier than I anticipate)

also, the temp climbs after its engaged and the air intake is reduced...

I have the same questions and thoughts as you here

I cant get a sustained 6+ hour burn from mine with surface temps over 500

they might peak at 900+ but will go below 300 too in that time frame.

I's not just the cat combustors Its the thermatically controled secondary air that self adjust to control the burn time. When I engage my cat combustir there