CB1200-I leaking smoke at startup

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

eandbnorton

Dec 2, 2009
Idaho
I am a newbie and my newly installed CB-1200 insert is leaking ALOT of smoke ... at start up. The smoke smell permeates the whole house. All 2500 ft sq. One morning after the stove had cycled on and off a few time throughout the night, the whole downstairs was filled with smoke (oddly not enough to set off the smoke detectors). Its not coming from out the venting (just had the installer replace the whole venting and re-seal it). Tonight I saw smoke seeping from the exhaust blower... but not sure if its really coming from there or just looks that way with a flashlight. This smoke leakage only happens when the stove is cold and only at startup and for about 5 minutes after that. Any ideas on how to fix this problem...is there really nothing wrong and its just something we have to live with? Other than that, stove works great and we love it!

Please help!

It's not OK and you shouldn't have to live with it.

I can barely notice the faintest odor of smoke on rare occasions from my CB1200 but 99% of the time there is no smell at all.

Earlier this year I realized that my smoke problems were being caused by the door seal. I had the latch side adjusted to pull in tight but the hinge side was too loose. A 5 minute adjustment made all the difference for me.

I think you just need to re-examine the whole unit and eventually you'll figure it out.