Cement board hearth pad question (previously was "Foolish question")

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,
I've got a really foolish question. My hearth is starting to come together nicely - 1/2" plywood bottom, 2x4" frame, 3/4" plywood layer on top, 1/2" hardiebacker cement board and then porcelain tile. Question I have is - does it really make a difference what I use to attach the hardiebacker? Nails, screws? Do I need to pre-drill holes if I use screws? I'm wondering if whatever I use will transmit heat into the wood.

This is my first time and I want to do it correctly. There are a lot of posts about cement board but I haven't found anything that refers to what it is attached with.

Thanks all.

First, make certain that your hearth will meet the requirements the stove and code where you are requires, not all stoves have the same requirements and some codes are stricter.

Second, there is a assortment of thin set mortars out there that will bond the cement board to the plywood, there may also be some high temperature adhesives as well, this eliminates any need to put screws or nails through the cement board.

SmokeyTheBear said:
First, make certain that your hearth will meet the requirements the stove and code where you are requires, not all stoves have the same requirements and some codes are stricter.

Second, there is a assortment of thin set mortars out there that will bond the cement board to the plywood, there may also be some high temperature adhesives as well, this eliminates any need to put screws or nails through the cement board.