ceramic or porcelain?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffman3

Nov 20, 2007
S.W. Nebraska
OK here goes. I'm new to wood stoves but have been doing a fair bit of reading on line. We are putting in a hearthstone Tribute. I am having the install done, but I am building the hearth my self. I have the R factors all figured, and the design for the raised platform that the pad will be fastened to. My question is about the tile. I have found many web pages that talk about ceramic tile, but haven't seen much of anything about porcelain. I have picked out a nice porcelain tile, that is .394 inch thick. I have met the R factor with the pad without the tile, but I am curious about it anyway.

jeffman3 said:
OK here goes. I'm new to wood stoves but have been doing a fair bit of reading on line. We are putting in a hearthstone Tribute. I am having the install done, but I am building the hearth my self. I have the R factors all figured, and the design for the raised platform that the pad will be fastened to. My question is about the tile. I have found many web pages that talk about ceramic tile, but haven't seen much of anything about porcelain. I have picked out a nice porcelain tile, that is .394 inch thick. I have met the R factor with the pad without the tile, but I am curious about it anyway.

We just did a new hearth job and all the PROS at both the tile places and Lowes said PORCELAIN.

We went with a 13" PORCELEIN tile and rated PEI-5.... do a Google on 'PEI Tile' (The Porcelain Enamel Institute).

Look for a PEI of 4 or 5 according to the PROS!