Chainsaw Bar Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kwburn

Feeling the Heat
Nov 19, 2005
Connecticut
Ok, I'm not an expert on much but definately not chainsaws.
I just have a basic Poulan my wife got me for fathers day about 8 years ago and it does what I ask of it. When it dies I'll get something better. The fact that I need pliers just to get the gas and oil caps on and off because the plastic threads look fine but for whatever reason are impossible to turn drives me a little nuts.

But anyway, here's my question. I think it's 16" but need to measure it so not sure. I saw a post the other day where someone was talking about swapping bars on a saw (16" - 20") and I see how easy the bar and chain come off my saw. Can you change the bar as needed for a bigger one or is the engine set up to have what it came with? Not looking to overload it or anything, just curious.

Don't take this personally but...............most "homeowner" saws (poulan, craftsman, snapper, etc.) are sold with bars that are too long for the motor in the first place. IMHO a 35 to 45cc saw should have no more than a 16" bar, 45 to 55cc in the 20" range, 60 to 75cc up to about 28" and 80 to 120cc what ever it will pull. I personally like the performance of a shorter bar on a bigger saw. My 50cc saw has a 16" bar , my 60cc has an 18" my 80cc saw usually has a 20" but will easily pull a 32" my 100cc saw has a 28" on it right now. Even my little 009 Stihl has a 12" bar on it.

You can go up to a 20"-22" MAYBE but you'll have to put a skip chain on her to do so.