Chattering coming from burner control?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

loudram

Apr 1, 2008
Southern NJ
Hello everyone, Just a new guy here with a question. There is a chattering coming from my burner control on start-up. It sounds like a relay chatter. (BTW...I'm an electrician) It's coming from the small box next to the terminal strip for the t-stat. What is that? Can it be replaced? Do I need to call a service tech? It's still under warranty but if I can replace it for less than a service call, I'll do it. The controller is a Beckett R7184B. Hopefully the pic turned out good. Thanks for your help.

Attachments

• IMG_4506 (Medium).JPG
    IMG_4506 (Medium).JPG
    75.2 KB · Views: 958
Looks like you have central air on that bad boy. You might be getting feedback from somewhere else in the system. Try disconnecting the W wire and see if that stops the chatter. Then try jumping the R and W terminals together and listen again (this will bypass the thermostat and start the burner). I suspect you may have a programmable thermostat that is drawing too much idle current. They use the heating circuit to keep the battery charged, and I have seen some of them pull enough current to keep a burner running when the stat opens, but that was an extreme case.

If it is still under warranty, the installing contractor should probably replace it without charge, if it really is bad. They probably go for around $100 new.

Chris