cheap black double wall chimney pipe

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

trigrman

Mar 24, 2009
southern MN
Has anyone else used black insulated pipe? I got it at menards because I was on a budget, and it sucks ! I am very new to stove ownership and went up to clean the pipe(It's 6-8 weeks old) and the cheesy screws that are suppose to keep it together were not doing their job. There was black gunk(creosote?) running down the outside. The install is this 6" pipe inside of an existing 8"chimney. Is this install a bad idea or is the pipe junk and should I return it before 90 days are up. I have 4 insulated sections 2' each and 2 unisulated 2'. It's not though anything except a 3' box on a vaulted ceiling- no attic there. Should I use the more expensive stainless. I have really enjoyed burning and cutting wood (just bought a new ms390). The stove is an Englander 13nc bought it on clearance at lowes at the end of this season. It's going now, since it may snow again this week!

Normally the double-wall connector pipe is joined to the same brand class A pipe at the ceiling support box and it stays double-wall from stove to this connection. Are these sections all the same brand of pipe? At what pipe joint(s) is the leakage starting from? When you cleaned the pipe was there a lot of gunk? How were the screws a problem?

A picture or two if you could post them, would be worth a hundred words here.

Did you have the crimped end facing down? It's odd to hear that creosote was dripping down the outside.