Chimney cleaning supplies

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry folks, I still can't figure out why the search function doesn't work on my computer. In any case, being a newbie, I'm wondering what tools I will need to clean out my 6" metalbestos chimney?

I see there are brushes, also a device that looks like a propeller made of a thin cable, then there are chemicals used to remove cresote, etc, etc, etc.

I'd like to be able to clean my own chimney and possibly have it checked professionaly only every 2-3 years. It does not seem like an impossible task for a homeowner with the proper tools and knowledge. Obviously a professional brings experience and expertise, I just don't want to have to pay a pro on an annual basis.

Any thoughts and/or suggestions?

-Kevin

****************** lost post bump ******************

I use the 6" poly brush and six 3' fiberglass poles to clean the chimney ( stright shot ) I dont know much about the other style , we do have users that are "sweeps" that could full in the information.

I use a 6" round poly brush, and 2 30 ft lengths of ski rope.

drop a bolt down the flu tied to the rope, then tie the end to the brush, and shove the brush into the top of the flu.

go into house, pull it all the way down.

back onto roof, pull it back up.

it takes me 20 minutes from start to finish, and thats counting getting the 24' extension ladder out too.

Brush was $14 locally, and then $4 more for the little eyelet to attatch the rope to the other end of it.

$5 worth of yellow poly rope from walmart.