Chimney Cleaning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tynman

Jun 19, 2008
Atlanta, GA
So I had my chimney cleaned yesterday. I've been burning for two years without a sweep. I know! I know, alot of what I've read on these forums, it's pretty risky to do as I see alot of you sweep every 6 months to a year. But from what I was told, this doesn't look bad, but needed to be cleaned (attached pic). From what the sweeper told me, I'm surprised considering it had been two years. Still, my thinking is once a year.

So my question is, does this look bad?

Attachments

• DSC01721.jpg
    DSC01721.jpg
    72.3 KB · Views: 552
Looks good for 2 years of service. Is the liner insulated, and how much wood are you burning? Don't think I'd change a thing, but I'd definately have it checked more often, just in case.

Thanks for the responses, good to know it's not too bad considering the timeframe. Good idea to atleast check it every 6 months. It is an insulated liner and we burn around 4 cords a year. Oak/poplar for the last two years and we burn start around Halloween to the end of March (burning 24/7 from Nov-Feb).

Looks fine to me.. Didn't really need a cleaning in my opinion..

Ray