Chimney fire while using my Fireview

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CTburning

Nov 9, 2008
Western CT
I have been burning for five years now and have heard of several chimney fires but never thought I would have one. My setup is a Fireview in the basement of a ranch home. 16 Feet of triple wall chimney (8†inside diameter) along the outside of the house connected to a rise of another 2-3 feet of single wall inside. I burn dry wood, stacked and seasoned for two years and future years will be closer to three. Unfortunately I burn mostly Red Oak, and I’ve had a couple of pieces sizzle. This was my second year burning with the Fireview and I didn’t have much creosote last year. My plan was to inspect and sweep the chimney towards the end of January but because of the snow this year, skipped that ritual.

My three cords only lasted until the beginning of March but my girl hates the cold so under pressure from her I burned some marginal at best Swamp Maple that I was going to use next year. Some of the pieces hissed a bunch and a couple had water sizzle out the ends but the majority of the pieces burned quick but hot.