Chimney Inspection

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

andyrlee

Oct 19, 2009
Northern WI
This is my first year burning wood for supplemental heat.

I have a brand new Kozy Heat 231ZC and have burned just under a cord of fairly seasoned red oak.

I say fairly because every once in a while I get a log that has a little sizzle.

The owners manual states that I should be inspecting the chimney monthly to check on creosote build up.

I planned on having a professional inspect and clean after the burning season.

Do you inspect every month? Should I?

Frankly, I wouldn't know what to really look for.

Thanks.

My first year I ran a brush up my chimney each month until I had an idea on how much creosote I would produce. In my old house I made most of the creosote on my singlewall so I pulled the pipe and ran the brush through it fairly often. It only took a few minutes and gave me a great peace of mind.

Matt