Chimney Liner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mu1166

Dec 14, 2007
Algona, Iowa
I'm a pretty newbie who is looking into getting a wood furnace. My exisiting brick chimney will need to be lined. The chimney is 9" square inside and has never had a liner in it. The mortar and brick look very good. The chimney runs through the center of the house. There are no bends in the chimney.

Do I need to get a dual wall chimney?

Single wall with some ceramic insulation?

etc...

I am looking for some opinions since I have never done this and would like to compare it with what the heating guy says when he come over to give me a quote. I might also be up to doing this myself if isn't to bad of a job.

Thanks in advance.

Wood furnace or wood stove: what type? If the liner will go into it, the size may be determined by the type of wood burning product that you install.
More please...

It will be a wood furnace.

Of the furnaces that I have look at so far, most of the ones that would suit my purpose have a 6" flue. the furnaces with an 8" connector are usually rated for an area quite larger than i need.

I am planning on using a 6" flue, but entertain options for a 6 or 8".

Thanks

Once you select the furnace, and know the flue connector size, then you with that for it will give you the best drafting. Also, if your 9" is a straight shot down, the 6 inch will give you room for a nice insulation blanket. If an outside stack, then all the way, if inside, then at least the part that is above the roofline plus a foot or so in.