Chimney Path Question - With CAD

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodBurningLearn

Nov 9, 2014
Muskoka, Canada
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to wood burning and we are hoping to put our woodstove in the location I've shown in the attached images. I'll try my best to explain everything using the photos and would appreciate any help/opinions. In terms of location we are in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada.

The first image provides an overall model of the house. The location we would like to place the woodstove is in the corner of the room on the first floor, passing through a living space on the second floor, and then running through the attic. Our long term plans involve removing a lot of that wall to the left of the woodstove (shown blue/grey) to open up the house which is why we would like to place it in the corner as shown.

The clearances surrounding the stove are all in compliance with the manual. The question is the almost horizontal length of doublewall stovepipe that I've shown.
upload_2014-11-9_13-26-33.png

A side view of the proposed installation. Again, we are hoping to remove about 4-5' of the wall shown in blue/grey. The reason that I believe we need to run the chimney to the center of the house is because of the slope of the roof. If we ran a straight chimney up from the woodstove position it would need to stick out of the roof by about 12' to clear anything within a 10' radius by 3'. I believe avoiding this scenario is best for 3 reasons:
1) I've heard that when the chimney is very high it is prone to damage from ice buildup,