Chimney questions for wood stove hook-up

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wjburger

Nov 28, 2008
Northeastern, PA
Hello to the forum. My name is Bill, from Northeast, PA in the Poconos. I have read the site from time to time trying to learn about wood stoves, installation and firewood. I have zero experience and previous knowledge other than what I have read. I get conflicting info. from people I know etc. so have stopped asking. There is a host of great info. on this site which is why I am here. I have searched for these answers but there is so much info. I would just like to have my specific concerns addressed, so if you have heard these a hundred times, sorry in advance.

I bought a used wood stove over a year ago to install in my basement. I never did so, but the electric bills are killing me and the time to procrastinate has come to an end, just like the numbers in my bank account come winter. I have most of the class A chimney and will be installing it through my block wall and up the side of my home, which is aluminum sided. I do have proper literature on this installation, but any tips for securing, framing out and going through my eaves would be greatly appreciated. I also bought a smaller cast iron wood stove to install on the other end of my home in the garage/workshop area, which I thought was going to be the easy job, but is in fact where the real dilemma starts.