Chimney Sweep questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OilNoMore

Apr 13, 2008
Champlain Valley, NY
Just starting to think about sweeping out the chimney for our new stove. It is 6" double wall pipe but has an elbow bend in it to avoid ceiling joist in the attic. I have no experience cleaning out an interior chimney, just lots of winters doing it on a exterior masonary chimney with a clean out door. I know I'll have to get on the roof, but will I have to remove any sections of the pipe or can I allow it to just fall into the stove? We have a Hearthstone Shelburne and the owners manual did not mention anything on this, other than to call a professional chimney sweep which I'd prefer to avoid as I feel I can learn to do this myself. Any tips are appreciated. My wood has only been drying since May but I still doubt there is much creosote build up. I just want to take my first try at sweeping it in November cold rather than January cold (hopefully there is so little build up there will be no January clean outs).

Attachments

• Library - 2269.jpg
    Library - 2269.jpg
    12.7 KB · Views: 342