Chimney Troubles

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Miketrueba

Dec 14, 2010
Idaho
I am new to woodstoves and we just had a Pacific Energy Vista Classic installed in our house. The chimney system was inspected and checked out good and we are supposed to be good to go. The issue I am having is (probably with my knowledge) the venting of the woodstove. Prior to lighting I have been opening the flu all the way, but it seems that even when I open it all the way the first 2 times I try to get the fire going the smoke is not clearing out of the firebox. If I walk away for a while then come back it vents perfectly and I have virtually no smokein the box. My question is, why is that? Do I need to "charge" the flu and leave it open for a while prior to lighting? Or am I having an issue with the material I am using to light the fire (newspaper). Any help on this would be great I have a few other questions but this would be a great start if you could point me in the right direction.

As a reference. Any and all info on your setup that you can give would help. Size and construction of Chimney and flue. Height and turns to the cap, etc.

Oh and welcome to the forum !!!!! Read, Learn, Burn.

1st- Welcome aboard!

2nd- there are a hundred threads here on lighting stoves. The search feature will take you to infinite wisdom, as well as some stupidity.

You want to have dry wood. Read up here on what dry wood is and isn't- it's maybe not as obvious as you'd guess.

Kindling is your friend- use it liberally.