Cinder Block Chimney?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Febronia

Nov 5, 2006
Hello-newbie here with a quick question. We moved into our home a year ago, and decided to go with wood heat due to struggling with oil/gas/ and electric heat cost(yes all three-this was the existing lay out) The owners before us installed an oil furnance with duct work through half of the house and had two of our four chimneys rebuilt with cinderblock. One is for the exhaust, but the other, upon our inspection in the cellar, is not being used by the furnance. There was a circle shape on the wall outside of the chimney in my dining room, and thinking it was the flue, I knocked the wall out around it only to find that there isn't one-yeah, you should of heard my husband. So my father came over and seen the cinder block chimney and said it was a no go-that the wood heat would cause it to crack, and since it's going between walls, it will be a major fire hazard. So, basically I was wondering if there is a way to use it, like lining to inside with proper pipe, or if I should go ahead and buy some drywall and replace the wall, and just forget about using wood heat?? Any help greatly appreciated!

It is a major fire hazard as is. Depending on what the internal dimensions are, you might be able to get a 6" liner with insulation in there. You could also run a pellet or corn stove vent up it.

Does the Cinder Block Chimney(s) have a clay liner or is it just Cinder Blocks?