CIrculator Pump Controlled with same thermostat as furnace blower.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Geigs

Dec 23, 2014
Dorion, Ontario, Canada
Hello, I am brand new to this so forgive the stupid questions. I am looking for some thoughts on how to have my in-house air thermostat (24v) run both my furnace blower and my grundfos circulator pump. My thinking behind this is I am wasting a bit of heat having the pump run all the time instead of kicking on when my blower kicks on.

Here is a little about my setup:

-Central Boiler Maxim M250 Pellet boiler, 90 gallon capacity, no other water storage. Installed in attached garage
-1" Pex running from boiler, about 60 ft into basement on opposite side of the house
-185k btu heat exchanger in the plenum of my oil furnace controlled by a simple 24v thermostat that kicks on the blower when my house calls for heat
- Pex runs back to the boiler.
-single smaller grundfos 3 speed pump

I realize that the hot water always circulating isnt a bad thing as the radiant heat off the lines is still in my house, however with the m250 boiler, it is picky as to the temperature of the water, it kicks on after a 2 degree drop so I notice is is flopping back and forth between medium and idle. I have adjusted the controller the best I can to try and keep the unit running at medium as the manual recommends.

My thoughts are if it doesnt circulate, it will hold the temp, it will only kick on when the house calls for heat, let me know what you think. thanks!

Reactions: GS7