Classic vs any gasser

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Is the Gasser really better

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

woodywoodchucker

Jan 8, 2012
western maine
I got questions.I have been running a CB 5036 for 3 years now. Burning green wet wood is an option. I know that when I burn seasoned split wood that the smoke is minimal, wood useage is less.So I guess my question is if I have 10 cord of seasoned wood how much wood will be left at the end of the season.I burn 10 now, some seasoned and most just stuff I pick up around for free.About 80% hard wood.I cant help but to believe that it maybe be on par with any gasser model.I have been told that I may burn at little as 6 cord with a gasser.Of couse in order to run the gasser you got to make sure that the stars are all lined up just so and vacuum the dust of the wood or something like that.Now as it stands with woody if a tree falls down its heat regaurdless of how it falls.

Sounds like your asking others to predict your heatload & therefore your wood usage, hard at best to even give a reasonable guess as temp as well as many other factors are variables (unknown).

AFA which unit is more eff conventional OWB or many of the gassers on the board, the gassers win that one. Laws of physics & thermodynamics back that up.

Can't recall any of the members with OWB's posting figures that had their OWB approaching anything near 40%, most gassers get 2x that regularly.

Perhaps you could read a little more on the operation of these gassers here? Plenty of former OWB owners here that now operate gassers can give you both sides of the story.