clean glass, and 2ndary burn questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bostock

Oct 27, 2010
Sharpsburg Maryland
been burning the F3 for a couple days now - i'm still new to wood stoves (well, i growed up with 'em, but never had one as an adult til this one). Still not comfortable getting too hot with it, been backing it down once it gets to 500-550 (stove top). I know, rookie stuff :).. I'll get there though.
couple unrelated questions:
1> glass is staying amazingly clean even with a couple starts/stops - can i infer this mean MC is low, or my air/fuel habits are probably ok?
2> i see 2ndary burn only a couple times, seems about 500* or so...is that about where i should see it? doesn't last too long though, i'm sure i'm doing something wrong...

1>Yes sounds like it
2>Depends on a few things. The secondaries are the gasses and smoke burning, if you have a smaller load and the air is open long enough that the wood outgasses enough the secondaries might not last long - not a big deal.

>2: that sounds very possible, burning too small..since i posted, i loaded more and got longer 2ndary. This F3 has a small firebox, still learning my way around the tight quarters without leaning on glass or baffle..

Sounds like you are doing just fine bostock. Happy heating and don't be afraid to take that temperature another 100 degrees.

It sounds fine to me, too.

One thing I remember vividly from my first year, is that I was leery of burning to hot. A thermometer helped me immensely in learning how to burn the Pacific. I wasn't burning any where near as hot as I could, or should.