Cleaning Chimmney, How Often?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

scfa99

Ok, i'm new to woodburning and want to make sure i'm doing things correctly. I've been up and running with my Quad 7100 for about a month. Burning seasoned hardwood (mostly black walnut, some ash, cherry and hickory). I usually run it pretty hot 400-600 stove temp, damp down at night but not all the way. I can't see up the pipe to check for buildup. So i'm wondering do i have the sweep come out once a year in the fall for inspection and cleaning or should have him come out during the season too?

I bet there's a way that you can check on creosote accumulation yourself.

Either way, I would check it out. Some installations can grow some serious creosote in a hurry while others don't produce any at all. It would be nice to know where you stand on that. It sounds like you know enough about creosote formation to come up with a cleaning strategy based on what you find out.

But consider doing it yourself, if possible. I like to clean mine once a week--whether it needs it or not. I sleep a lot easier knowing there's never going to be enough creosote in my chimney to cause a problem even if it does light off.

Eric,
We've talk at length about the risk that creosote presents, but I'm not sure what constitutes "serious creosote". The inside of my chimney is charred black, but it is just a film. When does it become a concern? 1/8" of an inch? One inch? When 10% of the flue is obstructed?
I know it is like cholesterol deposits in your arteries - less is better - but when does it become a dangerous condition?