Cleaning the Catalytic

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ravenvalor

Jul 28, 2008
Piedmont NC
Greetings Fellow Hearthlings,

I have been enjoying my Fireview since 2008 thanks to the friendly advice received from the members of this forum.

Could someone tell me the best method for cleaning my catalytic?
Also, can someone recommend a good replacement catalytic brand for when this one needs to be replaced?

Thanks to all!!!. I have not been to this forum in a while. I hope all is okay. Have a Happy New Year!!!

Jim

How to clean:

1: Remove Cat from stove and let it cool off so you can touch it comfortably
2. Use a vacuum cleaner attachment that has a small brush (upholstery cleaner brush) and vacuum both sides of cat
3. Put cat back
4. Done

I would not look any further than Woodstock for the replacement cat. Their prices are the best and you know you are getting the right part.

fire_man said:
How to clean:

1: Remove Cat from stove and let it cool off so you can touch it comfortably
2. Use a vacuum cleaner attachment that has a small brush (upholstery cleaner brush) and vacuum both sides of cat
3. Put cat back
4. Done

I would not look any further than Woodstock for the replacement cat. Their prices are the best and you know you are getting the right part.

fire_man,

Thanks for the tip. I am definitely concerned about quality when buying the catalytic.
About the cleaning, it would be nice to slide something inside those little holes. If not then maybe a high powered shop vac to pull the stuff out?

Best To You!

Jim