close call???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mook1302

Nov 27, 2012
Ok.. so ive been burning so so wood this year being its my first year with the stove and wasn't really prepared... but anyways ive been loading on a bigger load of coals then i normally do when i was burning dry wood... well needless to say the firebox took off like it was running a 4.3 40 yard dash... must of picked a couple dry pieces... lol

.. i havent seen flames like that in a while since ive been burning mediocre wood and having been not able to shut it down much do to it.. So i immediately started to get a little alarmed and was able to keep the flames under control by shutting down the air and grabbed my IR gun and shot the normal places i usually do on my VC Montpelier insert which is right above the door and then on the inside of the top air vents... i usually can get above the door in the low 400's and the vent holes around 280 ish (with the fan on medium to high)... this time around i hit 480 above the door and 400 on the vents... so i took the surround off and shot the only place thats not covered by the air jacket which is around the flue collar and i was in the ball park of the mid to high 700's... i monitored it and it never hit 800 so i eventually put the surround back on and by that point i was sweating cause that thing was throwing out some major heat..which i didnt mind since ive been pretty frustrated with the stove this winter due my wood...

.. is this normal operations for this stove if operated with nice dry wood or was that a close call to an overfire?