closed damper... hotter stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shiest

Jan 31, 2007
I am relativley new to wood burning and I have a 3 month old avalon pendleton insert with blower. I am still learning how this baby acts but I have noticed that contrary to what you would think, once I get a good fire going and damp it down, the stove temp actually goes up. This is not neccesarily a bad thing. because I never could get it as hot as I wanted it. but is this normal? I always thought closed damper = cooler fire. now its not closed all the way. I close it about half way and the stove temp jumps up 75-100 degrees. from about 425-500. am I crazy? I am sure it is doing this. the blower fan speed is not changed and I have played with this alot to make sure I am not imagining it. damper open 425 degrees. damper half closed 500 degrees? help!

oh and its a quick increase to. it takes only a few minutes after I damp it down for it to jump 100 degrees.

Instead of all the heat going up the chimney the damper holds it longer in the stove mthe Temp rise you are experiencing is normal

Welcome aboard

ok not to insult you because I certainly dont understand it myself. maybe Im referring to it incorrectly. maybe this isnt a damper but another kind of air control. this does not control the flue but air intake. does that still affect the amount of air being held in the firebox? does your solution still apply? I think maybe I am reffering to it incorrectly.