Clydesdale Newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gdisarcina

Sep 24, 2008
NW of Boston
I just had my Clydesdale inspected yesterday, and had my first fire last night. I am new to the insert world and have a couple of questions.

When should I throw another log in the box, when the ones in there all get down to coals? I am afraid to overstuff the box, and want to get the proper burn/heat output.

Should I have the blower on all the time, or will the heat be dispensed without it on?

When going to bed (bed is on 2nd floor, with stove on first), should I keep blower on high, low or off?

Sorry for the basic questions, and if anyone can point me in the direction of a thread that explains all this I would appreciate it.

Congrats on the Clydesdale purchase. Its a nice unit. I'm coming up on my second season with it and I'm really looking forward to getting it going.

Try the advanced search and search by username for Rhonemas and Tuner-n-Burner. They have both written some very detailed and lengthly Clydesdale posts. Very informative.

Here is a pretty good thread for the Clydesdale owners. There are at least a few other threads out there really focused on running the Clydesdale.

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/12316/

Also to answer a few of your questions, you can do a reload (usually at least 2 good sized splits up to 5 or so) when you are down to burning coals. See the above thread for directions on how to load... key to make a channel in the middle of the coal pile.