Complete Newb

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ccarlyle

Dec 15, 2009
Carthage, TN
I will start by saying that I know close to nothing about wood burning stoves but I am eager to learn. The home I bought has a stove in the basement. The stove itself simply has a removable tray in the bottom, a combustion area and a side stove pipe outlet. The chimney is masonry and appears to have a clay liner in it. The chimney is on an exterior wall and there is a collar that penetrates the block wall in the basement about a 2 feet from the floor. The location of the collar prevents the stove from sitting directly in front of the collar/chimney so there is currently a 3' piece of mostly horizontal stove pipe from the stove to the collar.

This setup does not work well at all. The chimney doesnt draft properly at all. I have successfully burned wood in the stove however it must burn really hot in order to draft. I tried to burn some paper this past weekend and zero smoke went up the chimney, all of leaked out the front door when opened or leaked around the flue fittings.

I obviously have issues, I think multiple issues. I am guessing that having that much horizontal pipe is bad and I am not convinced that I dont need some type of liner in the chimney. I would love to use this stove even if it requires some re-working to make if functional. Any guidance from the pros would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Attachments

• stovelayout.jpg
    stovelayout.jpg
    6.6 KB · Views: 334
ccarlyle said: