Complete novice here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

matt sabre

Dec 16, 2016
Pollock Pines
I recently bought a cabin that I'm renovating. It has an undated wood-burning stove and an open fireplace in one large hearth at the center of the house. The free-standing stove is a Gold Coast but I have no idea how old it is. The open fireplace appears to have a metal box in there and the chimneys both look in good shape.

During the renovations as it's got colder I've been using the free-standing stove but am not really happy with the heat output. Admittedly I've been burning sub-standard wood (mostly construction debris and offcuts) but over the course of several hours it just about gets up to 64 degrees, and that's with the assistance of a wall-mounted mini-split. It just doesn't seem to radiate much heat at all and the rooms further away are very cold.

I really need something that will push hot air around the place and circulate into the other downstairs areas. My place is 1,200 sq ft open plan with the main room, kitchen, bath and bed on the ground floor and an upstairs loft and bathroom that is open to the rest of the house.

I think I should be replacing the Gold Coast stove and just ensuring that the fireplace is properly sealed and used for decorative burning only. I'm including pics of everything and would appreciate questions and comments from the knowledgeable members on here. thanks for looking

matt

Here's the stove
260aj2a.jpg

The hearth and view of open loft above
cnlhk.jpg

Chimneys
2z6fpep.jpg

2u9pnc3.jpg

Fireplace
2mbd60.jpg