Concept Diagram, help and comments welcome

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chrishh

Aug 21, 2008
Western NY
Hello all,

I am by no means a hydronic expert. I have come up with a design for a hydronic/DHW with a wood boiler, thermal storage, and propane backup heat using a tankless DHW heater. Oh also I have added a small point of use electric hot water heater and a circulatory to provide instant DHW. I got some of the design from a Tarm Solo diagram I found on the internet and I got the other part by looking at the Navien System. I'm interested in getting feedback on the diagram. Please point out any parts of the system that would not work or any improvements. As you can see I also need some help with controls. Oh and please keep the lafter to a minimum :)

Attachments

• hydronic piping tankless DHW.jpg
    hydronic piping tankless DHW.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 11,190
First thought - if this were mine I'd swap the location of your heating circuits with your storage circuit. If you have your heating loads "first in line" from the boiler suppy you won't need any fancy controls to decide when water should be going to heat loads and when it should be going to storage. It looks like simply swapping the location of your loads (plumbing wise) you'd be able to accomplish this. Just a thought...