Condar Probe Thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Todd

Minister of Fire
Nov 19, 2005
NW Wisconsin
Just a fair warning to others thinking of purchasing the Condar Flue Gard mod 3-39. I just read the directions for mine and it says replace after 4000 hours of operation. This is only 1 full season for me. Also says not to scrape soot or ceosote off the stem it will not effect the readings. I wish they had this info on their web site, but I guess nobody would buy one then.

Todd:

I've been using a Condar probe (similar to the 3-39) for about twenty years... and never realized they had a 'limited lifespan'.

Mine still provides a reliable <relative> reference for flue temps... and I still trust it in that capacity.

Recently I ordered two identical Condar probes, so I can monitor both flue internal and cat 'overhead' temps at the same time... and have some faith that the readings will be directly comparable.

I don't think many (if any) inexpensive stove thermometers provide truly accurate 'absolute' temp readings.

Peter B.

-----

Peter B. said:
Todd:

I've been using a Condar probe (similar to the 3-39) for about twenty years... and never realized they had a 'limited lifespan'.

Mine still provides a reliable <relative> reference for flue temps... and I still trust it in that capacity.

Recently I ordered two identical Condar probes, so I can monitor both flue internal and cat 'overhead' temps at the same time... and have some faith that the readings will be directly comparable.