Condemned Fireplace Questions:

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shanemj

Sep 1, 2008
New Zealand
Hello to you all from New Zealand, I have a few questions regarding a fireplace in a house I've recently moved into.

Firstly a little background. The fireplace in the house has been condemned as of a week ago. A chimney sweep came in and noticed that a few things were out of place. He removed the glass cover and noted that there shouldn't be any coals in this type of gas fireplace as it's supposed to be a gas log fireplace. I'm an absolute amateur when it comes to fireplaces so I didn't read too much into it and nodded and agreed. After removing the coals from the plate it was sitting on he noticed that the coals had superheated and burnt right through to the part where the gas comes out of. Due to this a simple clean turned out to be the condeming of my fireplace :-S
The sweep has also told me that the fireplace is over 20 years old and a replacement part is near impossible to find. He also didn't know what model or brand it was so that means I have no idea either. A little dejected I've found myself asking the following questions:

1. Is there anything I can do to salvage this fireplace? (e.g attempt to find parts if anyone has seen a fireplace similar)
2. What other options are there other than the replacement parts? (e.g converting to a wood burning fire, installing a new gas fireplace)

Any advice or info that anyone has would be greatly appreciated. Just wondering where to go from here.

Attachments

• P1020136 [50%] [50%] [50%].JPG